Cool Cave Spring   Leave a comment


MYCOVER 600 x 800

Cool Cave Spring

Cool cave spring on a hot summer day,

draws me close to enter and stay.

A nice shady spot to soak and rest,

but first I will give it a little test.

Clear and clean the bottom easily seen,

rocks with strange shades of brown and green.

Behind a rock something catches my eye,

a cold chill ran up my spine then down my thigh.

Time to back away and leave this spring,

I’ll not disturb this slithering thing!

Snake 2

At the entrance of Sauta Cave, Alabama.

From the book Looking Ahead, you can preview it here.

Posted February 18, 2014 by caverhubert in Books, Caving, Chapbooks of Poems

Leave a Reply

